AC/DC @ the Forum

December 17, 2008 at 12:36 pm (Virgin Music) (, , , , )

The LA Forum is a great place to see a show, and now I’ve worked out freebie parking it is even better, it may not be the fanciest arena but there is no neon or boxes to distract from the rock. AC/DC hold a special place in my heart as I’m Australian and the Bon tracks seeped into my consciousness from a very early age. This is only my second time seeing them and they don’t disappoint even though it feels a little like a Broadway show, I get the feeling that the show is remarkably similar from night to night…not that that is a bad thing. Malcolm and Cliff’s backing vocals are an entertaining little side show as they walk up to and back from the mics in unison. The props and fireworks are all there as you’d expect…the blow-up Rosie, the bell and the cannons and so are the songs, though there were too many new songs for me and no It’s A Long Way to the Top. My favorite track was Let There Be Rock (also an underrated but killer Bon era album) with Angus’ solo showing part of the reason they are held up as such a great live band, I banged my head with pure joy during that one. So the show was excellent and that is without the added bonus of some of the best people watching ever, especially the women. There was also plenty of questionable behavior from the 90% male crowd…especially in the restroom…

Leave a comment